A dedicated and focused Board with significant industry expertise and strong professional experience.



Jim Hazel Non-Executive Chairman
Mr Hazel was appointed to the Board in March 2012. Mr Hazel has had an extensive corporate career in both the banking and retirement sectors. His retirement village operations experience includes being Managing Director of Primelife Corporation Limited (now part of Lend Lease). Other current listed company directorships include Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited and Centrex Metals Limited. He also serves on the Boards of Coopers Brewery Limited and the University of South Australia. Mr Hazel was previously on the board of ImpediMed Limited.  Mr Hazel holds a Bachelor of Economics and is a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Hazel is a member of the Investment Committee.
Robert Morrison Deputy Chairman
Mr Morrison was appointed to the Board in February 2013. Mr Morrison bring to the board extensive experience in property investments, property development, portfolio management, capital raising as well as institutional funds management. During his 21 years at AMP Limited, Mr Morrison’s executive roles included Head of Property for Asia Pacific and Director of Asian Investments. Mr Morrison’s investment experience includes senior portfolio management roles where he managed both listed and unlisted property funds on behalf of institutional investors. Mr Morrison was previously a Non-Executive Director of Mirvac Funds Management Limited, an Executive Director of AMP Capital Limited and a National Director of the Property Council of Australia. He is a founding partner and Executive Director of alternative investments firm, Barwon Investment Partners.  Mr Morrison holds a Bachelor of Town and Regional Planning (Hons) and a Master of Commerce. Mr Morrison is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and is Chair of the Investment Committee.
Amanda Heyworth Amanda Heyworth Non-Executive Director
Ms Heyworth was appointed to the Board in April 2012.Ms Heyworth is a professional company director and currently serves on the boards of a number of private, university and Government bodies.  She previously served as Executive Director of a venture capital fund which specialised in technology investments.   Early in her career, she worked as a Federal Treasury economist and held management roles in the finance and technology sectors.Ms Heyworth has particular strengths in strategy, managing growth and marketing having worked as a venture capital investor for over a decade and been involved in numerous product launches.  She holds a MBA from the Australian Graduate School of Management’s MBA program and has taught strategy and marketing for the AGSM in both Australia and Hong Kong.Ms Heyworth has strong finance and accounting credentials.  She has been involved in over 40 capital raisings and M&A transactions and holds a BA (Accounting) with a major in finance from the University of South Australia and has post graduate qualifications in accounting and finance. Ms Heyworth is Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.
 Valerie Lyons. PNG

Valerie Lyons Non-Executive Director

Ms Lyons was appointed to the Board in March 2017. Ms Lyons has over 30 years experience in executive, non-executive and advisory roles across the health, aged care and retirement, and finance and superannuation sectors. Ms Lyons has held CEO and CFO roles in well regarded seniors and disability service organisations including Uniting AgeWell, Villa Maria and Southern Cross Care (Vic) with prior directorships including Leading Age Services Australia (LASA), Catholic Health Australia (CHA) and Aged and Community Services Australia (ACSA). Ms Lyons is currently a non-executive director of Health Employees Superannuation Trust Australia (HESTA) and registered disability and aged care provider Independence Australia Group. She also serves as a non-executive member of the Audit & Risk Board committee for the Australian Digital Health Agency (ADHA), a government agency with responsibility for all national digital health services and systems. Ms Lyons holds a Bachelor of Business Studies Accounting. Ms Lyons is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, CPA Australia and the Governance Institute of Australia and a member of the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees.

Ms Lyons is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and Remuneration and Nomination Committee.

 Andrew McEvoy.jpeg Andrew McEvoy Non-Executive Director
Mr McEvoy was appointed to the Board in December 2017. Mr McEvoy has over 20 years’ experience in executive and non-executive roles in tourism, digital marketing and e-commerce. Mr McEvoy’s prior roles include Managing Director, Tourism Australia, CEO, South Australian Tourism Commission, and CEO, Life Media and Events for Fairfax Media. Mr McEvoy is currently Chairman of the South Australian Government’s Adelaide Riverbank Authority and SeaLink Travel Group (ASX: SLK). He is also a Director of Lux Group and Founder and Executive Chairman of We Connect China. Mr McEvoy holds a Master of Arts, International Communications and a Bachelor of Arts. Mr McEvoy is a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee and the Investment Committee.
Simon Owen Simon Owen Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director
Simon joined the Group in November 2009 as the Chief Executive Officer. He initiated the internalisation of management and exit from the ING Group as well as Ingenia’s focus on lifestyle parks. Simon leads the management team and has overall responsibility for all facets of the business. He brings to the Group in-depth sector experience. Simon is currently a Director of BIG4 Holiday Parks. He is also a past National President of the Retirement Villages Association, a role he held for four years, and a prior member of the Retirement Living Council (part of the Property Council of Australia). Simon has over 20 years’ experience working in ASX listed groups with roles across finance, funds management, mergers and acquisitions, business development and sales and marketing. Simon has a Bachelor Business Accounting and a Graduate Diploma in Advanced Accounting and Tax. Prior to joining Ingenia Communities, Simon was the CEO of Aevum, a formerly listed retirement company.